Main siteMain site  ForumForum  ForumSearch  Private messageEmail contact  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in 
Topic: Access to Element Properties during training
Reply to topic
Author Message
Giannis76



Joined: Jan 11, 2023
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Apr 25, 2023 2:57 PM    Post subject: Access to Element Properties during training

Hi Jarek and group,

how can I have access to properties of an element during training, to change its values.

E.g. I want to access the properties of a bar graph element to change the % of time over

threshold. I saw designs, where simply mouse clicking on the bargraph activivates the possibility

to click on "Properties" and the "Properties" window opens to be able to change them.

Thanks for advices!
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 1049

PostPosted: Apr 25, 2023 4:18 PM    Post subject:

You need to use PropertySetter. It is a very powerful element and mechanism not found in other software, so can be a little tricky at first. It can take a value to set from the design.

Make sure that you set right "Post action" of the target element or the whole design.

To retrieve a value, use PropertyGetter.

On the other hand, if you only want to show some individual properties in a Properties dialog, you could use PropertyBuilder in a NestedDesign.
Giannis76



Joined: Jan 11, 2023
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Apr 25, 2023 4:49 PM    Post subject:

Okay. I have some experience with property getter and setter elements.

E.g. getting a value --> changing the value with a slider --> setting the new value.

But how can I get access "on the fly" to the "properties menu" in a running training to change

some values there. I mean the "properties menu", to which I have access in the design

backend when the design is not running yet?
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 1049

PostPosted: Apr 25, 2023 5:38 PM    Post subject:

Maybe you want to use ElementInteractor with 'Properties' action to show up the properties dialog of any element at runtime?

If not, send a screen shot.
Giannis76



Joined: Jan 11, 2023
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Apr 25, 2023 5:51 PM    Post subject:

Yes, I guess. I want to show up the properties dialog of a specific element (e.g. bargraph) at runtime to change

its properties. E.g. I want to move the cursor over the bargraph, activate its properties and then change values

in the property dialog and set the new value.
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 1049

PostPosted: Apr 25, 2023 5:56 PM    Post subject:

You will need a way to activate it, for example a button (can be on top of another chart) which then sends out a value to trigger ElementInteractor.

Or detect a mouse click (MouseChartSensor) and execute ElementInteractor.
Giannis76



Joined: Jan 11, 2023
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Apr 25, 2023 6:02 PM    Post subject:

Yes! just did it with a button and element interactor. I can so have access to the properties of whatever element

is connected with the button. I can change the properties, click apply and the new information / value is

processed. Pretty cool and powerful!

Thanks!
Reply to topic