Main siteMain site  ForumForum  ForumSearch  Private messageEmail contact  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in 
Topic: DELAY in Realtime recording
Reply to topic
Author Message
angel61606



Joined: Jul 8, 2020
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Nov 22, 2021 8:23 AM    Post subject: DELAY in Realtime recording

Hi Jarek

I am facing a serious problem, I have a main design in which there are several nested designs to set some parameters during recording my signals:

1) I use one nested to set file path for my xdf writer, in this nested nedesign chart properties i set the frame property to separate dialog1.
2) I use another nested design to reset my filters min and max frequency again in this nested nedesign chart properties i set the frame property to separate dialog1.

problem : as long as you didn't open either of these separate dialogs you see no delay in ur data. i mean for example u see the blink just when it happens in ur eeg data. BUT as you open one of these dialogs you see one second or more delay on ur data , blink appear on ur data at least one second later .

one odd thing is that the first time u open one of these dialog u see a dalay but after it no matter how many times u open then the delay wont be ocumulated . i mean for example if ur first delay is one second if u open ten times more the delay wont be 10 second.


i thought maybe because i set both nested designs on seperate dialog1, i see the delay. so i changed one of the nested frame property to "separate frame", but i still see the delay.



I am using bioera for neurofeedback studies so i do need it to be real time. please help me out on this thank a million in advance.
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 930

PostPosted: Nov 22, 2021 8:44 AM    Post subject:

It does take significant processing time to initialize dialogs or any new graphic interface.

Maybe it would be best to show ALL graphic interface at start. And then hide some of that if not needed right away.
angel61606



Joined: Jul 8, 2020
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Nov 22, 2021 11:10 AM    Post subject:

no it is not acceptable to show them all at start . all people who r using bioera know about this? i mean how they deal with it? it is so visually undesirable to show them at start , moreover, i am not sure it will fix the problem.
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 930

PostPosted: Nov 22, 2021 12:13 PM    Post subject:

The idea to show at start is just to improve the timing later on during processing. I don't think it is done often or at all, but I thought I would throw an idea.

Usually when someone is opening dialogs they are probably fine with some short delay temporarily.

BioEra is trying to be real time, but it is not really possible on a non real time system like Windows. So the main objective is to make sure that we do process all data and don't lose anything, even if sometimes there are some delays (which can be due to many other reasons as well). Also, in general those delays are shorter on higher end computers, so if you need smoother processing then upgrading your system may be another idea.
angel61606



Joined: Jul 8, 2020
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Dec 4, 2021 2:32 AM    Post subject:

finally, I could solve the problem. I had rate normalizers on the way of my signals. after removing them, opening any separate dialog or frame wouldn't cause any noticeable delay.

I should also note that having rate normalizers sometimes make a recognizable kind of noise in your signals ,which we have been looking for the cause for a loooooooooooooooooooooooooong time, it got fixed after removing rate normalizers .
Reply to topic