Main siteMain site  ForumForum  ForumSearch  Private messageEmail contact  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in 
Topic: problem With Excel writer
Reply to topic
Author Message
angel61606



Joined: Jul 8, 2020
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Aug 12, 2020 7:52 AM    Post subject: problem With Excel writer

Hi In a report page, I have 12 channels of EEGs , i do same processes on each of them and then i give the report graph output of each, to an input of excel writer. the problem is it doesn't work. when i connect each of them separately to an excel writer it works , but together it doesn't work. interesting thing is sometimes 3 of them work together sometimes 2 and the rest of time no.i mean in my excel file some columns have values but the rest of columns are zero(each column corresponds to a channel) i am really confused . i used buffer so if there is a problem with time, it gets resolved but again i faced the same result, i must finish this project as soon as possible, please help me to solve this , thanks in advance.
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 823

PostPosted: Aug 12, 2020 9:01 AM    Post subject:

I can't tell for sure without seeing a snippet. But it seems like you try to mix ReportGraph and ExcelWriter elements which should not be used together, because they behave differently. If you wish to export to ExcelWriter from ReportGraph, use the context menu options at right mouse click, not the ExcelFileWriter element.
angel61606



Joined: Jul 8, 2020
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Aug 12, 2020 9:22 AM    Post subject:

thanks for your respond but the thing is I need my data goes automatically to excel because afterward there is another program which will read this excel file. i wish there were some solution to my problem. I am really stuck. :/
another problem i encounter here is that if i use ONE report table element and i connect the output of all these report graph i have to it, again i will have just one column data and the rest are zero. but when i use multiple tables for each it works. help me out please i feel so frustrated :D
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 823

PostPosted: Aug 12, 2020 10:20 AM    Post subject:

My advice would be to create a two completely separate designs, or completely separate blocks. When you have ExcelWriter in one, and ReportGraph in the other. Do not mix them together.

The ReportGraphs works very differently than all other BioEra elements. Because it has only one output which is used to send out all channels. So it is multiplexing all those channel one by one. Which means it can only be used in a very specific (and limited) way like in the example provided with BioEra.

All other BioEra elements (including ExcelWriter) have a dedicated connection for each channel. So this is more intuitive and easier to use. I would start with this part. Make sure it works (without the ReportGraph). And only when this part is finished, maybe try to add ReportGraph similar to how it works in the example.
angel61606



Joined: Jul 8, 2020
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Aug 15, 2020 2:14 AM    Post subject:

thanks a lot for your response, I will have to find another way to send my data to excelwriter. by the way I think you didn't address the other question of mine where i said "another problem i encounter here is that if i use ONE report table element and i connect the output of all these report graph i have to it, again i will have just one column data and the rest are zero"
please note in this question my problem is with report table element not excelwriter.
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 823

PostPosted: Aug 15, 2020 9:30 AM    Post subject:

I can't tell without seeing a snippet. The ReportGraph is different than all other elements, because it processes all channels/columns using only one output. So it may not behave as you would expect.

I would start with the example which works, try to understand it and then edit/improve it gradually rather than start with a completely new design.
angel61606



Joined: Jul 8, 2020
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Aug 17, 2020 2:43 AM    Post subject:

thanks , i finally solved the problem, here is a new problem i am facing: let's say i have a stream of numbers that i am transferring to excel. they are taking 10 columns but half of the columns contains 6 rows and the other half one row. I know in this case if i am lucky and it works( because sometimes it doesnt work really*) the other rows of second half will be set to zero but the problem is the last column of the first half doesn't show the numbers it should show instead it sets all to zero. i mean exactly where these two half conjunct with each other my data gets lost. what should i do?

* sometimes the excel doesn't work and shows all the second half zero. I mean all rows including the first one which contains my data.
angel61606



Joined: Jul 8, 2020
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Aug 18, 2020 9:02 AM    Post subject:

Hi Mr Jarek, as you know I can name my excel columns by writing them in Header section , i was wondering if i can somehow insert my rows name as well. I mean i write columns names and separate them with \t , is there any combination which i can use there to write rows name as well?
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 823

PostPosted: Aug 18, 2020 10:54 AM    Post subject:

Yes, if you use Object version of the ExcelFileWriter. Then you can use the first (or any) column for names.

In this case, every value is a text, so you will have to convert any numbers you want to save there to text.
Reply to topic