Main siteMain site  ForumForum  ForumSearch  Private messageEmail contact  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in 
Topic: Freeze
Reply to topic
Author Message
GMartin



Joined: Feb 5, 2010
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Oct 21, 2019 11:58 AM    Post subject: Freeze

Jarek I have experienced a freeze multiple times, always under the same circumstances.
BIoEra 4.085
Q-Wiz amplifier.

If the Wiz is not connected or assigned the wrong serial port, Bioera freezes. I need to use the taks manager to close BioEra.
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 746

PostPosted: Oct 21, 2019 12:54 PM    Post subject:

If the serial port is incorrectly configured then this is probably caused by the serial port driver which tries to send data and freezes when it can't.

I am not sure I can improve it, I do not have a way to detect whether a serial port is correct (or responsive) before trying to communicate with it. Well behaving serial ports should not cause this, but not all behave well (like those for bluetooth), that applies to any device not just QWiz.

I will try to find out if there is a way to set a timeout on the serial port driver, I just found there is an option which looks like it, but I can't tell yet if it actually is. I also can't reproduce it at this moment (but I think I have experienced this problem before).
GMartin



Joined: Feb 5, 2010
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Oct 21, 2019 2:45 PM    Post subject:

I just switched serial ports a week ago. Switched back just now and everything is fine.

Seems to be an issue on my PC
jmNZ



Joined: Jun 13, 2019
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Nov 1, 2019 9:34 AM    Post subject: re-install

I have the same problem when the 'load design' window freezes.
A friend has suggested un-installing the whole BioEra programme and re-installing.
I presume this is feasible with just the dongle?
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 746

PostPosted: Nov 1, 2019 9:56 AM    Post subject:

Yes, you can install and uninstall any time you want.

A complete freeze when loading design is unusual though. I have never seen it, but I did see sometimes the file dialog took time to show up. So be patient. This dialog is native to Windows, it is not BioEra built, so it means the delay is probably caused by some Windows OS issues, like misbehaving or very slow network drives.
jmNZ



Joined: Jun 13, 2019
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Nov 3, 2019 10:49 AM    Post subject: load design freeze

Ah well, have un-installed and re-installed BioEra but the same problem persists.
Seems to be limited to the design window, where any operation is frozen.
Several months now since I bought BioEra for ?325 and haven't got it running . . .
GMartin



Joined: Feb 5, 2010
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Nov 3, 2019 1:06 PM    Post subject:

If you are using a PN Wiz amplifier you have to install the driver software twice to make it work.

I would suggest the next step being uninstalling again, disabling you anti-virus and turning off firewall.

I occasionally get a message after installation that the firewall has blocked some functions of the program.
GMartin



Joined: Feb 5, 2010
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Nov 3, 2019 1:06 PM    Post subject:

If you are using a PN Wiz amplifier you have to install the driver software twice to make it work.

I would suggest the next step being uninstalling again, disabling you anti-virus and turning off firewall.

I occasionally get a message after installation that the firewall has blocked some functions of the program.
Reply to topic