Main siteMain site  ForumForum  ForumSearch  Private messageEmail contact  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in 
Topic: Export Design and all Referenced Nested Designs
Reply to topic
Author Message
EMebane



Joined: Apr 15, 2019
Posts: 73

PostPosted: Sep 29, 2019 12:53 AM    Post subject: Export Design and all Referenced Nested Designs

I have several Nested Designs in other folders that are referenced with absolute references. Is there a way to gather up all the files referenced by a design when exporting it?

It looks like I should have used the %DF% Environmental Variable and store Nested Designs in the same folder in the future to make my designs more portable.
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 746

PostPosted: Sep 29, 2019 9:17 AM    Post subject:

If you export using the option in Tools menu "Release current design" then it should include referenced nested designs.

Yes, the %DF% option is recommended for easier package (set of designs) management. And for versioning. That way different versions of the same design can coexist if put in different folders.
EMebane



Joined: Apr 15, 2019
Posts: 73

PostPosted: Sep 29, 2019 3:05 PM    Post subject:

I'd like to confirm that my released .zip works. I've followed the instructions in the manual to rename the file install.zip. I launch BioEra and the install.zip file disappears which seems to indicate that the design was loaded, however I don't see the new design in BioEra. Is this a result of running the test on the same machine used to create it? I renamed my folder that contains all my designs so that if BioEra is going to attempt to re-create the original folder hierarchy it won't encounter folders and files. When I attempted to launch BioEra with the install.zip in these conditions the result was the same. The original folder hierarchy was not recreated and the released file doesn't seem to be un-archived anywhere in my BioEra folder.
jarek



Joined: Oct 22, 2007
Posts: 746

PostPosted: Sep 29, 2019 3:34 PM    Post subject:

Hmm, I am not sure what happens here, it always works for me.

Try to put this example install into your main BioEraPro folder (no need to rename):

http://proatech.com/design/example_install.zip

then start BioEra, and you should see a folder name with a single file in it:

"example_installed_folder"

If you see it, then something could be wrong with your install.zip (feel free to send it to me so that I can try it). If not, then maybe there is no permission to write/create folders in your BioEraPro folder.
Reply to topic